Navigation>> Home > view About > view
College of Physics, Jilin University
Post: 2017-10-21 15:40:57  View:

           The college of physics of Jilin University has a predecessor called the Northeast People’s University. In June 2001, physics departments and centers of former Jilin University, Jilin University of Technology, Norman BethuneUniversity of Medical Science, Changchun University of Science and Technology and Changchun Institute of Posts and Telecommunications consolidated into the now college of physics of Jilin University.

           The college holds a center for post-doctoral studies in physics. The department of condensed matter physics has a national key discipline, which together with optoelectronics and optics is accredited as national key subjects under the "211 Project ". The discipline of physics is a state-level base for the development of research and teaching talents in fundamental natural sciences, and an accredited conferrer of doctor's degrees in grade one subjects.

           The college has 214 faculty members, among which 2 are academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and Chinese Academy of Engineering. There are 11 honorary professors including some world-renowned physicists such as Chen Ning Yang and Leroy L.Chang. The college now has five undergraduate subjects: physics, applied physics, nuclear physics, optoelectronic information science and engineering and Sino Russian joint-program of physics. 1135 undergraduate students, 443 graduate students and 105 doctoral students are studying there. The undergraduate education of the college has constantly adjusted its curricula and instruction methods in keeping with the development of the discipline. It places great emphasis on the integration of theory and experiment in teaching and has produced remarkable results.

All right resrved College of physics,Jilin University © 2017Tel:+86(431)-85166112

Address:Changchun City, Jilin Province, R.P.China, Qianjin Street No. 2699